Sports Talk: And, the 2012 Washington County sports award winners are….

Well, here it is the day after New Year’s Day, and I’m still reflecting on 2012, and all the great athletes, coaches and sports personalites in Washington County (and elsewhere). Thought I’d compile a list (checked it twice, too) of all the awards, trophies, and cups that I’d give out (if I could).

Hope it makes y’all smile – and, oh, yes, have a super duper 2013.

Coach of the Year: Brian Brewer

Female Athlete of the Year: Erica Dawson

Male Athlete of the Year: Tim Saunders

Pitcher of the Year award: Austin Blaski and Kyle Lindquist (tie)

Why didn’t I get drafted award?: Brian Gasser

The greatest sports writer of all time: the late Bill Robinson

He couldn’t win with that powerhouse (?) award: Jeff Filkovski

Wish she were back on the hardwood trophy: Aleisha Guiler

Gone but not forgotten award: Jill Meiring and Mike Deegan (tie)

Played in a bowl award: Grant Venham

No. 1 Steelers fan: Andy Schob

No. 1 Reds fan: Mike Wagner

No. 1 Bengals fan: Jim Meagle

No. 1 Pirates fan: Terry Wallis

No. 1 Buckeyes fan: Mark Duckworth

From Broadway to Ontario Street award: Nick Swisher

Most memorable moment: Marietta College baseball team repeating as national champions in Wisconsin

Up, up and away award: Paige Grosel and Derek Spindler (tie)

Swedish connection cup: Jeff Price

If this is a soccer ball, I’ll kick it in the goal award: Molly Josefson

Can’t wait until next summer award: Todd Engle

Getting out of Beverly/Lowell and heading to Florida award: Taylor Buchanan

Loudest aluminum bat award: Tim Grosel

Best discus thrower: Emma Ryan

Justin Bieber cup: Eli Strahler

Most impressive varsity basketball newcomer: Corey Hill

Deserved better: Trevor Halter

Best stat and info man: Todd Morris

Metro trophy: Mike Metts, of course

Best co-head coaches on one team: Jim Thrash and Larry Burke

Best 2012 prep football team in Washington County: Fort Frye

Best 2012 prep golfer in Washington County: Jared Hammons

Most versatile award: Krissy Rowe

Best point guard in OAC: Tyler Hammond

Book of Eli trophy: Eli Lenington

Parlez-vous francais award: Evan French, of course

Best SID at a college in Washington County trophy: Jeff Schaly

Best local sports radio team: Johnny Wharff and Mark Bradley

Most recognizable voice on local sports radio: Chris “Big Daddy” Wharff

King of the wild frontier: Roger Kirkpatrick, of course

I dream of Jeannie award: Jeanne Arbuckle, of course

Old reliable: Oran Adams

Best father-son head coaching basketball duo in Mid-Ohio Valley: Fred and Scott Sauro

Best attorney coaching a varsity sport in Washington County: Dale Leeper

Next time, duck! award: Nancy Ward

Funniest guy in the press box award: Jim Schaly

He could coach anywhere in America award: Jon VanderWal

The Jerry Springer cup: Bob Springer, of course

He never loses in Parkersburg award: Tyler Cantley

The life of Riley award: Wes and Braden, of course

Paint it black award: Luke Black, of course.

Ron Johnston is the Marietta Times sports editor, and can be reached at 376-5441 or at