1st offense for all, not just teens

Ohio’s no texting while driving law took full effect Friday, which means drivers under the age of 18 can now be pulled over if it is suspected they were texting or talking on a cell phone.

It’s punishable by up to a $150 fine and could include a license suspension of 60 days. Multiple offenses would lead to larger fines and longer suspensions.

While this is now a primary offense for teens, it remains a secondary offense for adults over 18.

Still, we think it’s such a safety issue, everyone should refrain from texting and driving and in general stick to hand-free devices when driving a car. It’s safer for everyone.

Ohio is in the minority when it comes to making texting and driving a primary offense for teens only. Nationwide, 39 states have bans on texting behind the wheel, according to AAA, and all but four make this a primary offense for all drivers.

We urge drivers of all ages to be mindful of the provision taking effect at this time, and ask everyone to consider putting down the phone when they get behind the wheel.