Times’ news staff earns two first-place APME awards

The Marietta Times earned two first-place and two third-place Division II awards during the annual Ohio Associated Press Media Editors newspaper competition in Columbus Sunday.

The Times was among 67 daily newspapers in all divisions submitting a total of 2,742 entries in the contest that featured news and sports stories, features, editorials, columns, graphics, and photographs from 2012.

Division II includes newspapers with daily circulation of 8,000 to 12,999.

News Editor Kate York received top honors in the Best Editorial Writer category, and the entire Marietta Times staff took first place in Best Explanatory Reporting for articles on the “Cost of Health Care.”

In the category of Best Headline Writer, Times senior copy editor Jim Bartholow earned third place in the statewide competition, while reporter Kevin Pierson took third place honors in the Best News Writer category.

General Excellence first-place awards presented Sunday:

  • Division I (newspapers with daily circulation of up to 7,999) The (East Liverpool) Review.
  • Division II, the Chillicothe Gazette.
  • Division III (newspapers with daily circulation of 13,000 to 24,999) Springfield News-Sun.
  • Division IV (newspapers with daily circulation of 25,000 to 74,999) The (Canton) Repository.
  • Division V (newspapers with a daily circulation of more than 75,000) The (Cleveland) Plain Dealer.

The Associated Press is a not-for-profit news cooperative representing 1,500 newspapers and 5,000 broadcast stations in the United States. Members of AP include 85 daily newspapers in Ohio.