3 inducted into SCJ Honorary

Marietta College’s Chapter of the Society for Collegiate Journalists recently inducted three graduating seniors into the SCJ Honorary – Connor Walters ’13 (Bay Village, Ohio), Andrew Knauff ’13 (Valencia, Pa.) and Amanda Nicholson ’13 (Marietta). The SCJ adviser of Dr. Joan Price. To be inducted into the honorary, students must be members of SCJ who are active in student media and achieve a 3.25 or higher grade point average.

The Society for Collegiate Journalists is the country’s oldest organization designed solely to serve college journalists. Pi Delta Epsilon, founded in 1909, and Alpha Phi Gamma, founded in 1919, merged to create SCJ.

Nicholson, president of Marietta’s SCJ chapter and editor-in-chief of The Marcolian, was a finalist for SCJ’s Student Journalist of the Year. Knauff, treasurer of Marietta’s SCJ chapter, served as interim managing editor of The Marcolian. Walters, online editor of The Marcolian, received the Knight Award for the outstanding graduating Media Studies major.