Belpre’s new council sworn in

BELPRE – Belpre residents officially have a new council as all seven city officials and the new city treasurer were sworn into office Wednesday morning.

Mayor Mike Lorentz performed the eight swearings-in during a ceremony in the Belpre City Council Chambers.

“I am pleased to be able to do this and look forward to working with everyone for the betterment of the city,” Lorentz said.

Along with the five incumbents – at-Large councilmembers John Newberry and Susan Abdella with 1st Ward Councilman Larry Martin, 2nd Ward Councilwoman Debbie Marshall and 4th Ward Councilman Dewey Robinson – two new councilmembers were sworn in. Donna Miller is now serving in an at-Large position while William Gilbert will serve as the 3rd Ward representative.

“I have been speaking with the other councilmembers and we are all excited about the new term,” Miller said. “I think it will be a good council and I look forward to the next two years and maybe two more after that.”

Lifelong Belpre resident Kylie Martin was also sworn in as the new city treasurer and was officiated by her father, Larry Martin.

“I am very proud of her,” said Larry Martin, who has served on council four years. “She just completed her Master’s Degree and teaches special needs children.

“She saw a need within the city and decided to take this on, too, which is fantastic,” he said.

All eight of the elected officials were chosen by the voting population of Belpre during the November general election.

Lorentz said the swearing-in ceremonies for the city typically take place early in the day on New Year’s Day, around 8 a.m., but this year councilmembers chose to hold it at 10 a.m.

“I think they wanted to sleep in a bit after celebrating the new year,” he joked.

Current terms for Lorentz and City Law Director Tom Webster will end Dec. 31, 2015.