French named D2 player of the year

Evan French has been named Division II Southeast District player of the year for the second season in a row.

French, a senior for the Warren Warriors, is averaging 23.5 points per game this season. He scored a season-high 37 points in wins against Fort Frye and Athens and has helped lead the Warriors to a 21-3 record so far. The 6-foot-4 shooting guard will lead the Warriors into Saturday night’s district final game against Logan Elm at the Convocation Center at Ohio University.

Senior Reece Patton and junior Michael Hall each earned second team honors for the Warriors. Hall, a 6-6 point guard, is averaging 15.6 points per game while Patton, a 6-3 forward, is adding 13.8 points a contest. Senior forward Andrew Drayer earned special mention honors.

In Division IV, Caldwell’s Jonathan Weichman was named East District player of the year while Clint Crane was selected as the district’s coach of the year.

Crane guided the Redskins to 15 wins on the hardwood this winter while Weichman poured in a team-high 21.8 points per game. Also, with a 37-point performance in a win over Marietta this season, Weichman became Caldwell’s all-time leading scorer. Weichman, a senior guard, finished his prep career with over 1,350 points.

Fellow Redskin Tanner Clark was named third team all-district while Tanner Baker and Tanner Harding were both honorable mentions. Clark, a sophomore, scored 13 points per game this season.

Back in Division II, Marietta’s Braden Riley was selected to the All-Southeast District second team. Riley, the Tigers’ 6-5 center, led Marietta with 15.6 points per game this season. He was also the team’s top rebounder and shot-blocker.

Also honored for the Tigers was Corey Hill, a special mention pick.

In Division III, Belpre’s Nick Therriault averaged 17.1 points per game and was named third team all-district. Fellow Golden Eagle Brennen Ferrell was a special mention.

Also in D3, Federal Hocking’s Ivan Santiago was named third team. Santiago averaged 11 points per game for the Lancers.

Rounding out the Southeast District, Waterford’s Cody Paxton made the second team. Paxton scored 11 points a game for the TVC-Hocking co-champion Wildcats. Eli Strahler added 7.8 points per game for Waterford and was named to the third team, while Tanner Pottmeyer was listed as a special mention.

In the East District, Seth Legraen and Chandler Lang each represented Fort Frye on the first team in Division III. Legraen led the Cadets with 17.4 points per game while Lang added 10.9 markers a contest. Carter Kiefer and Jordan Anderson were each special mentions. The Cadets finished first in the Pioneer Valley Conference and were also OVAC Tournament champions this year.

Monroe Central’s leading scorer Bryan Duffy (17 points per game) was a second team all-district selection while teammates Chandler Kuhn and Levi Brown were special mention and honorable mention, respectively.

Merritt Flood was Shenandoah’s lone representative on the all-district list as he was an honorable mention.

In Division IV, Frontier’s Drew Schneider was a second team all-district honoree. Schneider paced the Cougars with 18 points per game. Schneider was instrumental in helping this year’s Cougars set a school record with 213 3-pointers made in a single season.

Rounding out the East District, Brady Weaver and Marcus Mayle were each named honorable mention picks in Division II to represent Morgan.

On the girls side, Lain Weppler was named first team All-Southeast District in Division I. Weppler averaged 10.3 points per game for Marietta this season. Fellow Lady Tiger Starr Johnson was a second team selection. Johnson scored nine points a game off the bench for the orange and black.

In D2, Victoria Buzzard was picked to the second team. Buzzard led the Lady Warriors with 15.5 points a game this winter. Teammate Kendra Lynch was a special mention.

Sierra Barker was named second team in Division III, as she led Belpre with 14.7 points per game this season. Belpre also saw Katelyn Hughes named as a special mention.

Federal Hocking’s Ashton Cale was also a special mention pick in D3.

Dani Drayer, who led district champion Waterford with 15.8 points per game, was a first team all-district honoree in Division IV. Regan Porter was a second team pick, averaging 10.8 points per game. Porter and Drayer are both sophomores. Fellow Lady ‘Cat Taylor Hilverding was a special mention.

In the East District, Vada Clemens was the lone selection for the Morgan Lady Raiders. Clemens, a third team all-district selection in Division II, led Morgan with 13.3 points per game in her senior season.

In Division III, Brooke Borich was a first team pick for the PVC champion Fort Frye Lady Cadets. Borich led Fort Frye with 17 points a game this season. Megan Liedtke, who added 13.7 points a night for the Lady Cadets, was named to the second team while Shawntell Parsons was an honorable mention.

Allison Kuhn was also listed as an honorable mention to represent Monroe Central.

In Division IV, the Frontier Lady Cougars saw three players earn district honors. Kelsea Daugherty was a first team selection, Corisa Fickiesen was second team and Jenna Maston was honorable mention. Daugherty, a 5-11 senior, led the Cougars with 18 points per game. Classmate Fickiesen contributed nine points a night for Frontier, which won the OVAC Tournament for the first time in school history.

Finally, Caldwell and Shenandoah had two selections apiece.

Raechel Rossiter, who scored 9.6 points per game, was a second team pick for the Lady Zeps while Megan Devol, who averaged nine points a night, was named to the third team.

Caldwell’s Tiffany Yerian and Lexy Schell were honorable mentions and special mention, respectively, while Shenandoah’s Blake Hall was special mention.